Do Property Managers Need A License?

Do You Need A Real Estate License To Be A Property Manager (1)

Most states require a real estate license for anyone involved in property management activities. It can get a little confusing as some states’ real estate statutes never even mention the words “property management”.

For example, Idaho, Maine, and Vermont do not require any license to be a property manager. On the other hand, Montana, Oregon, and South Carolina allow property managers to work under a property management license instead.

Requirements

A realty license is typically required if you are involved in any of these six activities:

  1. Advertise the availability of rental properties.
  2. Prepare or discuss a property management agreement with an owner.
  3. Negotiate leases or lease terms.
  4. Show a rental property.
  5. Drive or accompany a potential renter to a rental property.
  6. Collect Rent.

Real Estate License

If a real estate license is needed, there are a few requirements before you can even be considered:

  • At least 18 years of age, and, in a few states, at least 21 years of age.
  • A high school diploma or equivalent.
  • Usually 2-3 years of real estate industry experience.
  • Must be a U.S. Citizen. In some cases state residency is required.
  • Take specific real estate educational courses, required by the state, at approved educational institutions.
  • Pass a real estate brokers exam at a preapproved location.
  • Finally, pass a background test, and, in some cases, a credit check will be run.

Property Management License

In the rare case, you only need a property management license, there are a few requirements that need to be met as well:

  • Enroll in approved property management course work and continuing education.
  • Pass the property managers exam.
  • 18 years old, with a high school diploma or equivalent.
  • Good standing with the state real estate board.
  • Pass a criminal background check.

Author: Tyler Karstensen